Last month, we completed an article on the Story of COGS for Jon Murphy, which he published on the GoGeomatics web site. This led him to ask me to clarify the ‘myth of COGS’, which has taken up some of my time in March.

We interviewed Gary Gaul, Head of Maintenance at Lawrencetown and asked him about his recollections of student life in the 1980’s. This was followed by a gathering in Annapolis Royal. We invited Bill Power, Marlin Gould, Roger Mosher and David Colville to discuss their time at NSLSI when they were students. Subsequently, they became instructors in the various Computer Programming programs. Thirdly, I contact Val Thomas at Virginia Tech. She was a student at COGS in the late 1990’s.
The end result of these conversations has been a better understanding of the COGS reality. You can look forward to another GoGeomatics article in early April. While it tries to address the myth, it, in fact, offers more content for the story.

In attempts to reach out to graduates of COGS, this month I have been in contact with Karen Reinhardt, Harold Hunt, Daniel Munroe, Gwen MacNairn, Jeff Tracey, Bert Seely, Edward Wedler, as well as all of the instructors mentioned above.

Please keep passing on the word, and look out for my next contribution to GoGEomatics, on the ‘myth of COGS’.

This list covers instructors (by program, some with duration) and staff through 1980 till the present.

John Belbin
Ada Cheung
Piers Churchill
Walter Morrison
David Raymond 1986 – 2012
Pat Sorel
Lynn Trepanier
John Wightman

Terry Crowe (1980)
Mike Donnelly
Marc Hebert
Phil Hore
Monica Lloyd
Ian Moncrieff
Ed Symons

Computer Programming
Catherine Bate
Joy Brown
Pat Castel
David Colville
Alan Connors
Ela Dramowicz
Konrad Dramowicz
Chris Gold
Marlin Gould
David MacLean
Bob Maher (1980 – 1988)
Barry Mooney
Roger Mosher
Bruce Peveril
Piotr Pitrosky
Bill Power
Paul Quinn
Simeon Roberts
Kathleen Stewart
Jim Verran

Remote Sensing
Manou Akhavi
Tim Kearns
Ernie MacLaren
Trevor Milne
Jim Norton
David Sherstone
Vern Singroy
Tim Webster
Edward Wedler

Bill Chambers
Jim Dobbin
Bruce Hicks
Jack Kaulback
Phil Milo
Grant McBurnie
David Morgan
Neil Ormrod
Richard Phelan
Ron Robichaux
Len Telfer
David Wedlock
David Woolnough

Marine Geomatics
David Dodd
Troy Greene
Maria Healy
Dennis Kingston
Brian Pyke

Jim Doig ( – 1986)
John Wightman (1986 – 1993)
Paul Lafleche (1994 – 1998)
David Woolnough (1999 – 2005, Director, AR 2002 – 2010)
Jim Stanley (2005 – 2012)
Isabell Madeira-Voss (2012 – present)

Frances Balser
Donna Bent
Donna Eisner
Judy Foster
Marian Larsen
Terry Milton

Johnny Beals
Norm Buckler
Gary Gaul
Dave Jolly
Arthur Lowe
Terry McNeill

Computer Support
Pat Castel
Pearl Chambers
Chris Goucher
Tim Mooney